It was a matter of pride and privilege for Delhi Public School, Patna to host the Takshila Science Carnival in the school premises on August 17, 2019. There were numerous interesting demonstrations, innovative experiments, models and scientific games displayed by the budding young scientists. After the completion of the registration process, inaugural ceremony was held. The ceremonial lightning of the lamp (as a symbol of igniting the soul) was done by the Principal along with the distinguished guests. The jury members for the event were notable luminaries of their respective fields:- Dr. Prolay Das, Associate Professor, Dept. of Biochemistry, IIT Patna; Dr. Md. Lokman H. Choudhary, Associate Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Patna and Dr. Navin Kumar Nischal, Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, IIT Patna. The Jury members were honoured with lively potted plants which are a symbol of new beginnings and new lives. The events conducted were Scientific Modelling for classes VI to XII, Just –A-Minute (JAM) for VI to VIII and Quiz for IX to XII.

The Scientific Modelling topics for Group A (VI-VIII) were: Energy Conservation, Fun with Science, Environmental Problems and Solution, Communication System, Sustainable Development, Medicine and Health Science.The topics for Group B (IX-XII) were : Aeronautics, Space Research, Waste to Wealth, Science and Technology to help Physically challenged, Agriculture and organic farming, Mathematical Modelling. 13 models were displayed for each category at different venues. Some of the eye-catching models were: Remote sensing satellite with Solar System. Soil Moisture sensing unit, Waste to Wealth, Fun with Science, Organic Farming, Biofertilisers, Fan Detection Device, Home Automation, Aquaphonics, Smart Stick, Reinforcement of roofs, Smart Village, Blind Suit and Smart Shoes. The jury members asked students about the scientific concepts forming the foundation of the models and their relevance for the society. Students were encouraged to develop a scientific fervor and an attitude of research mindedness so that they develop the qualities of analytical and critical thinking.

The winners of Group A :- Open Minds won the 1st Prize, Litera Valley got the 2nd Prize and Dr. D. Y. Patil got the 3rd Prize. Group B Winners:- Gyan Niketan bagged the 1st Prize, DPS Patna got the 2nd Prize which was shared with Open Minds and 3rd Prize was received by St. Karen’s. QUIZ  comprised of two rounds namely the elimination round and the stage round. 13 teams participated for the online quiz out of which only 5 teams were selected for the stage round. The stage round included questions from discoveries and inventions, science today, live  demonstrations, etc. DPS Patna won the 1st Prize which was shared with Notre Dame Academy, St. Michael’s got the 2nd Prize and Litera Valley bagged the 3rd Prize. The most awaited award ceremony was conducted. Finally, the results were declared by the Principal. All the winners were felicitated by the Principal along with the jury members. The programme concluded with the delivery of Vote of Thanks followed by National Anthem.

Added on: 17 Aug 2019

Published by: School Admin